Browse the programme


Ruth Ewan and Astrid Johnston

Observers' Walks



For the first in the series of Observers’ Walks, Ruth Ewan and Astrid Johnston have created an audio guide taking in the monuments and geology of Edinburgh’s Calton Hill. Centring around the Political Martyrs’ Monument, the tour reveals the stories behind the glaciated landscape and the rocks placed upon it, inviting us to re-engage with the rich diversity of history on Calton Hill. Narrated by Tam Dean Burn and Ruth Milne.

Download the map and further information here.

Part of Observers' Walks

Observers' Walks are a series of downloadable audio guides commissioned by Collective and created by artists specifically to be listened to on Calton Hill.